top of page

Our Recent Posts

Tags

No tags yet.

Salzburg!

I was able to visit Salzburg and was fortunate enough to visit the Salzburg Cathedral. Originally constructed in 1628, it is a seventeenth century Baroque cathedral of the Roman Catholic church. Originally, the church was founded in 774 but burned down in 1181. It was then rebuilt and then in the seventeenth century, the current church was constructed.

The church is dedicated to Saint Rupert and Saint Vergilius. Saint Rupert founded the church in 774. The church to this day has bells originally cast in 1628. During World War II, the church was damaged when a bomb crashed through the central dome. Repairs were completed by 1959. Interestingly, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart was baptized at that very church on January 28, 1756.

The church was very beautiful and a little different from a lot of the other churches that I had visited. I also walked through it in the evening on Good Friday. I saw them removing the cross from the stage and moving it to a back room in the church. It was very interesting seeing this and really made me think about how important it is to understand different religions. So often people focus on the differences between different religions and say that differences are not good. However, differences are an opportunity to learn from people and to further ones knowledge. It allows them to reflect more on who they are and what they believe. This entire semester, I have gone to a lot of different churches and have learned a lot from going to all of them. I've learned about different customs and rituals which I had never really known about before. I think that when going abroad, it is best to go outside of ones comfort zone and to go places and do things one might not normally do!


bottom of page